News & Views

Celebrating Excellence: FPS Awards 2023 Shortlist Revealed

The Federation of Piling Specialists (FPS) is delighted to unveil the shortlist for the eagerly anticipated 2023 FPS Awards. This year, the FPS received 28 entries, across five categories, each showcasing an exemplary commitment to excellence. The calibre of these entries made the judging process a formidable task.

Our esteemed panel of judges, including Bob Thompson (Bob Thompson FICE), Viven Dent (Environment Agency), Andy Butler (Multiplex), and Jan Windle (COWI), dedicated themselves to the challenging task of evaluating the entries. Their expertise and careful consideration has resulted in the shortlisted companies and individuals who stand out as paragons of achievement in the piling industry.

Those shortlisted are:

Safety Innovation Award Shortlist

  1. Cementation Skanska
  2. Keller
  3. Van Elle


Sustainability Award Shortlist

  1. Bachy Soletanche Balfour Beatty Ground Engineering JV (SB3)
  2. Cementation Skanska
  3. Van Elle


Site Apprentice Award Shortlist

  1. George Johnson (Bachy Soletanche)
  2. Rebecca Conner (FK Lowry)
  3. Matthew Allen (Vibro Menard)


The FPS would like to extend its congratulations to the finalists for their outstanding contributions and dedication to excellence in the piling industry. Each shortlisted entry represents a remarkable achievement, and the FPS is proud to recognise their commitment to safety, sustainability, and fostering the next generation of piling professionals.

The excitement continues to build as we look forward to the grand reveal of the winners in these categories, along with the Lifetime Achievement Award winner and the Chair’s Award winner. Mark your calendars for the prestigious awards ceremony, scheduled for Friday, October 13th, 2023, at the JW Grosvenor House hotel in London.

For those who wish to be part of this momentous occasion, please note that the registration to attend the event will close this Thursday 28th September 2023. Don’t miss your chance to celebrate excellence and innovation in the piling industry with us.

Once again, we extend our gratitude to all FPS Members and Associate Members who participated in this year’s awards, making it a truly exceptional celebration of industry excellence.