News & Views


London’s JW Grosvenor House hotel played host to the prestigious Federation of Piling Specialists Awards last night (13 October). It was an inspiring evening that shone a spotlight on innovation, sustainability, apprenticeship, and lifetime achievement within the piling industry.

The event gathered industry leaders, experts, and rising talents, showcasing outstanding contributions that are propelling the sector forward.

This year, the level of entries was the highest yet and we’re delighted to share the winners of our five accolades:

Safety Innovation Award 
Winner: Keller, Step Forward for Safety Campaign 

Sustainability Award
Winner: Cementation Skanska, Hydrogen Dual-Fuelled Piling Rig

Site Apprentice Award  
Winner: George Johnson of Bachy Soletanche
Lifetime Achievement Award 
Winner: David Sherwood

Chair’s Award 
Winner: Nirmal Tiwari


Thank you to all of the outstanding entrants, Steve Hadley (who hosted the evening in John Chick’s absence), and to our four judges – Vivien Dent (Technical Specialist: Green Growth and Delivery at the Environment Agency), Andy Butler (Technical Director at Multiplex), Bob Thompson (Managing Director at Bob Thompson FICE) and Janice Windle (Director at COWI).

Finally, thank you to our 14 sponsors for making this event possible: Cleveland Steel and Tubes, Barker Ross, Cementation Skanska, Bauer Equipment, Keller, Acero Construction, F Brazil, Vibro Menard, Casagrande, Liebherr, AGD Equipment, Obsidyan, Connect Construction and  Total Construction Supplies.